Most important
Мукасьян Александр Сергеевич On the photo: Alexander Mukasyan

University:  University of Notre Dame, USA

Academic degree and title: Professor

Academic positions: Professor of the Faculty of chemical and biomolecular engineering at the University of Notre Dame in the United States, Director of the Research Center "ceramic Constructional nanomaterials" NUST "MISIS".

Area of scientific interests: synthesis of nano-materials, new energy sources, kinetics and mechanisms of fast heterogeneous reactions.

Winner of open international NUST «MISiS»  grant competition to support  scientific research implemented under the supervision of the world's leading scientists
Scientific achievements:

1980 - graduated With Honors from the faculty of Experimental and Theoretical Physics of the MEPhI;
1980-1989 wrked as a research fellow of the Institute of Chemical Physics of the USSR Academy of Sciences in Chernogolovka;
1986 - defended a doctoral theses;
1989-1996 worked in the Institute of Structural Macrokinetics and Materials Science of the Russian Academy of Sciences;
1994 - defended habilitation theses and became the Head of the laboratory;
1996 - employeed by University of Notre Dame (USA, Indiana);
2000 - Professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering at the University of Notre Dame (USA, Indiana).

Author of 3 books and more than 200 reviews, patents, and original scientific articles in peer-reviewed journals. Area of scientific interests includes synthesis of nano-materials, new energy sources, kinetics and mechanisms of fast heterogeneous reactions.

Area of interests of Professor Mukasyan is solid flame. He is one of the most famous world experts on that issue. This technology was developed in the USSR by his teacher, academician Alexander Merjanov. It allows to connect refractory elements, such as carbon with tantalum and to obtain compounds with unique properties. So, on the basis of tantalum carbide  the most durable of all synthetic materials was created.

Professor Moukasyan explains the essence of the method. - You take tantalum powders and carbon, mix them, and then point the laser beam to1 cubic millimeter space . Local warming triggers a reaction, which generates a lot of heat. It quickly as fire, distributes throughout the volume of the substance, in a  second turning it into refractory tantalum carbide. Everything happens in  vacuum without any melts and gases. Thus the name - rigid flame. Its advantage compared to the conventional methods of this material is obvious: large energy savings. Because usually special furnace, high temperature, and synthesisuse are used for hours. And process is quick, high-quality and cheap.

Mukasyan decided to apply this already world-recognized  methods to create nanotechnology refractory ceramic materials. At first glance, this seemed unreal. It is well known that high temperature and nano are incompatible. When heated particles begin to grow, and the whole nano effect is just lost. But the scientist managed to find three options for solving the problem.

So one of the research goals of the Professor Mukasyan-lead Centre of ceramic konstrakcionnyh nanomaterialsin MISiS is tightly sintered carbide-silicon ceramics. Today this material is world champion in withstanding high temperatures and oxidizing environments. In particular, this material was  the basis for famous shuttle cover. Application area is very wide: space, aircraft engineering, defense industry, oil and gas, microelectronics etc. So demand for it is growing rapidly. The market is divided between large players. But Russians have a chance to enter, speaking figuratively, through nano. The essence is the same as with tantalum carbide. To receive such ceramics not in the usual way, spending a lot of time and energy, and by applying a "solid flame".
- It allows to reduce the temperature of sintering of nano-powder from 2400  to 1700 C, and reduce the time from 1 day to one hour, explains Mukasyan. - Under such conditions nano grains do not grow, which allows us to get tightly sintered nano ceramics
  If we succeed, I believe my job at  MISIS is done.
According to the Professor, research is proceeding successfully. The center has already sent five articles to peer review journals  and submitted two patents for the invention.

Hobbies: Main hobby in their spare time is football. He still comes out on the green lawn 2-3 times a week.

!

Our projects
Last comments



Яндекс.Метрика

Мукасьян Александр Сергеевич профессор Мукасьян Александр Сергеевич факультета химической и биомолекулярной инженерии университета Нотр Дам в США, директор Научно-Исследовательского Центра "Конструкционные керамические наноматериалы" в НИТУ "МИСиС"

Победитель открытого международного конкурса на получение грантов НИТУ "МИСиС" для поддержки научных  исследований в области развития научного направления, проводимых под руководством ведущих ученых


Область научных интересов: синтез наноматериалов, новые источники энергии, кинетика и механизмы быстропротекающих гетерогенных реакций.

Основные научные достижения:

1980- С отличием закончил факультет Экспериментальной и Теоретической Физики МИФИ;
1980-1989 - Работал научным сотрудником Отделения Института Химической Физики АН СССР в Черноголовке;
1986- Защитил докторскую диссертацию;
1989-1996 Работал в Институте Структурной Макрокинетики и Проблем Материаловедения РАН;
1994- Защитил докторскую диссертацию и занимал должность заведующего лаборатории;
1996- Сотрудник Университета Нотр Дам (США, Индиана);
2000- Профессор кафедры химической и биомолекулярной инженерии Университета Нотр Дам (США, Индиана).

scale-750x750d.jpgна фото: Александр Сергеевич со своими сотрудниками за работой.

Автор 3 книг и более чем 200 обзоров, патентов и оригинальных научных статей в реферируемых журналах. Круг научных интересов включает такие области как синтез наноматериалов, новые источники энергии,  кинетика и механизмы быстропротекающих гетерогенных реакций. 

Область интересов профессора Мукасьяна - твердое пламя. Здесь он один из самых известных в мире специалистов. Кстати, эта технология была создана в СССР его учителем академиком Александром Мержановым. Она позволяет соединять тугоплавкие элементы, например, углерода с танталом и получать соединения с уникальными свойствами. Так, на основе карбида тантала создан самый прочный из всех искусственных материалов, которые удалось сегодня получить науке.

- В чем суть метода? - объясняет профессор Мукасьян. - Вы берете порошки тантала и углерода, смешиваете их, а затем в точку объемом кубический миллиметр направляете луч лазера. Локальный прогрев инициирует реакцию, которая выделяет огромное количество тепла. Оно быстро, как пожар, распространяется по всему объему вещества, за секунды превращая его в тугоплавкий карбид тантала. Все происходит в вакууме, причем не образуется никаких расплавов и газов. Отсюда и название - твердое пламя. Его достоинство по сравнению с традиционными способами получения этого материала очевидно: большая экономия энергии. Ведь обычно используют специальные печи, высокие температуры, и синтез в течение десятков часов. А тут быстро, качественно и дешево.

Мукасьян решил применить этот, уже признанный в мире метод, для создания нанотехнологий тугоплавких керамических материалов. На первый взгляд, это казалось нереальным. Ведь хорошо известно: высокие температуры и нано несовместимы. При нагреве частицы начинают расти, и весь эффект нано просто теряется. Но ученому удалось найти сразу три варианта решения проблемы.

Так одна из целей исследований, которые ведет созданный профессором Мукасьяном в МИСиСе Центр керамических констракционных наноматериалов - беспористая карбидо-кремневая керамика. Сегодня этот материал - чемпион мира по противостоянию высоким температурам в окислительных средах. В частности, на основе этого материала была сделана обшивка знаменитых шаттлов. Область применения самая широкая: космонавтика, авиационная техника, оборонная промышленность, добыча нефти и газа, микроэлектроника и.д. Поэтому спрос на него стремительно растет. Рынок поделен между крупными игроками. Но у россиян есть шанс на него проникнуть, говоря образно, через нано. Суть та же, что и с карбидом тантала. Получать такую керамику не обычным способом, тратя много энергии и времени, а, применив "твердое пламя".
- Оно позволяет снизить температуру спекания нанопорошка с 2400 С до 1700 С, а время сократить с суток до одного часа, - объясняет Мукасьян. - При таких параметрах нанозерна не растут, что и позволяет получить беспористую нанокерамику. Если нам все это удастся, то могу считать, что я свое дело в МИСиСе сделал.
По словам профессора, исследования продвигаются успешно. Центр уже отправил в престижные научные журналы пять статей, а также представил два патента на изобретение.

Хобби: Главное увлечение в свободное время – это футбол. Он до сих пор выходит на зеленый газон 2-3 раза в неделю.




Назад к списку



Наши проекты

Последние комментарии



Яндекс.Метрика